New music in the making: "Reflections in light - WAVE / PARTICLE", commissioned by Festspillene i Elverum

"Reflections in light - WAVE / PARTICLE" is a new work by Arve Henriksen and Sigurd Hole, commissioned by Festspillene i Elverum 2022. The work will be premiered in Hamardomen on August 11th at 22.

The work draws inspiration from the changing nature of light and its dynamic presence in time and space. The music can be seen as an extension of Hole's solo work, where exploration of the double bass' harmonic spectrum is a central aspect.

In "Reflections in light", these textures are orchestrated for several strings together: two double basses, viola da gamba and violin. Prepared piano and various percussion devices (such as glass, metal and stone) form multidimensional rhythmic textures that are woven into the sound of the strings.

Henriksen's distinctive trumpet sound will act both as an integral part of these different soundscapes, and as a bright, shining star through the reflections of light..

Arve Henriksen - trumpet / electronics
Sigurd Hole - double bass
Ståle Storløkken - piano
Vilde Sandve Alnæs - violin
Inga Margrete Aas - double bass / viola da gamba
Ane Marthe Sørlien Holen - percussion

(text from the homepage of Festspillene i Elverum: )

+47 99525574
Reflections in light